Now That’s What I Call 2009: My Year in Review

2009 is nearing its curtain call, and I, for one, am glad. It’s had its ups, though, in all honestly, it’s been filled mostly with downs on a personal level.

There’s been funerals and marriages break down, redundancies and postponed weddings to deal with, and I’ve had to cope with the guilt of condemning my first car to the scrapyard.

There’s been some pretty major events on a global level (take a deep breath. . . ): Swine Flu, Jade Goody, Michael Jackson, Barack Obama, Baby P, MP’s ExpensesNick Griffin, Slumdog Millionaire, Transformers 2, Balloon Boy, Patrick Swayze, Stephen Gately, Sir Bobby Robson, Brawn, Jenson Button, Usain Bolt, Susan Boyle, Snow, War, etc. etc.

All of those should spark some kind of memory of 2009 for most of us; good or bad.

Below is my year in review. Let’s hope 2010 is a better one. For me, and for all of us.

Now That’s What I Call 2009: My Year in Review
Twitter went mainstream
Spotify revolutionised my music listening
I joined a band (Revelry)
We rehearsed and gigged
We gigged in Newcastle, Gateshead, and Sunderland
Revelry changed direction
I left the band (they’re now called Perfect Strangers)
I attended one funeral (Rest In Peace Uncle Brian)
I gave in to Facebook
I played drums for another band, The Stunt a couple of times
I signed up to Linkedin
I found out Michael Jackson died after coming off stage at the head of steam (me, not Michael)
Paulo the Punto got his wing mirror kicked off
I got serious about Social Media
I was made redundant from my job at EthicalSuperstore.com
I carried out some freelance Social Media work for GCSEPod.com and Citrus Audio
I had to move back in with my parents due to redundancy
I attended one wedding (Congratulations John and Jen)
I worked as a barman at one of Newcastle’s finest pubs, The Strawberry
Cider became my drink of choice
I found alternative employment at Berghaus
Paulo the Punto went to the scrap yard
I bought a car that works properly
eCommerce became my ‘thing’
Manchester Orchestra became my new favourite band
The Answer rocked my socks off
the wedding I had planned with my fiancée was postponed
I went to Nottingham and Blackburn for the first time
My parents marriage fell apart
I bought a Christmas tree
I went to London with work for a couple days
I felt the least Christmassy I’ve ever felt
I went to Whitby – it was shut
I discovered vanilla lattes
I drank my first bottle of red wine
I couldn’t go a day without reading the eConsultancy blog

What’s made or broken your year? Any momentous occasions or utter disasters? Share them below. . .

Share

  1. February 4th, 2010

Leave a Reply

