My Top 10 Sites of 2009

Christmas is just another sleep or two away which means that a new year is just around the corner. The end of one year and the beginning of another seems a good time for some sort of reflection. There’s a lot to think about at this time of year and I’m busy planning a few posts of that nature which should make their way onto this over the coming days.

The first, though, is my roundup of my personal Top 10 Sites of 2009. Not necessarily my favourite sites, but, according to my History, my most visited sites over the past 12 months.

Here goes:

  1. Twitter
  2. Google
  3. Yahoo
  4. BudURL
  5. LinkedIn
  6. Facebook
  7. WordPress
  8. Amazon
  9. eConsultancy
  10. JobCentre

Well, I think we can all see some trends there…

Social networking and interaction sites have been top of my agenda for 2009. Twitter, Facebook and LinkedIn all feature in the top 10, as does link shrinking site BudURL.

The fact that Amazon makes an appearance underlines the importance of (or at least the importance I put upon) eCommerce and online shopping.

eConsultancy has become a treasure trove of information, news, fun, and contacts that seems invaluable now.

JobCentre Plus illustrates that 2009 has been far from plain sailing for me as I found myself out of work following a redundancy in the middle of the year.

What were your most visited sites of 2009? And what do they say about you and your year?

It would be great to hear some of your thoughts . . .

Share

  1. I think most people will be showing similar lists to be fair – it’s kinda been one of those years.

    For me personally, I think it would break down like this:

    1. Flickr
    2. Twitter
    3. Google
    4. Amazon
    5. WordPress
    6. Elance
    7. Guru
    8. Narcmedia.com
    9. Facebook
    10. Freeindex

    Again, social networking takes up the majority of the slots, and it has proved invaluable in building contacts and finding work. LinkedIn has yet to become part of my repertoire, but I am sure it will early in the New Year. Flickr clearly takes the top spot by a country mile and I’m happy to say I’ve got my money’s worth from my premium subscription this year.

    Great post Marty, and best of luck with the exciting New Year you’ve got lined up.

  2. Cheers for the comment Tommy. This recent weather must’ve increased your ‘snowy Newcastle’ shots a fair bit the past week? LinkedIn is a funny one. I wasn’t sure about it at first but have already made some good contacts and been introduced to people I would never have met otherwise. One day one of those contacts might just lead to something! I wonder if Earspace will make the Top 10 in 2010?

  3. Put the house on it mate… We’ll be coming in your Earspace January 2010… Yup, snowy Newcastle now covered and next year’s Christmas cards are being planned as I type! Also got some snowy Durham shots and generic snowy woods shots, which should sort me right out!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

