When I Grow Up. . .

I recently visited the Discovery Museum in Newcastle and had a great time. I was particularly impressed with the ‘Newcastle through the Ages’ exhibition; personal highlights included the Roman years, the war years, and the swingin’ sixties!

However, in another instalment, members of the public were invited to fill in a four question form detailing the following:

What did you want to be when you were young?
What is your current job?
What is your ideal job?
What would be your nightmare job?

My answers were as follows:
A dog;
Web Administrator;
?;
A bird keeper (yes, I really do not like birds!)

I struggled to answer the ‘ideal job’ question. I thought about being a full time musician but decided against it as it would involve too much time away from home. A footballer seems a good choice but I would not want to be subject to such media attention, potential hatred, and to be honest, I’m really not that good. Another potential was a farmer. But then I remembered I don’t like farms.

So, there I was, in the Discovery Museum, questioning my life’s ambition. What is my ideal job? My fiancée’s is, apparently ‘Archaeologist/Indiana Jones’, interestingly, the same answer as the first question. If only I could be a dog. . .

I’ve given this question a lot of thought recently, having graduated from university, found myself a suitable job, been made redundant, worked in a pub, and found myself a decent job again all in the last 18 months.

Every time I think about it properly, I always end up deciding that the best way I can achieve what i want to, personally, professionally and financially, is to start my own business, be my own boss, run things my way. There’s one thing holding me back, though. What on earth is my business going to be?? What DO I want to be when I grow up??

Share some thoughts, what did you want to be when you grew up? What’s your ideal job?

Drop a comment below, or better still join the When I Grow Up. . . Facebook Group.

 

Share

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

